Crag Karma

Introducing Crag Karma

Crag Karma is a way of thecrag recognising user contributions to the index.

Every time you contribute to the index, you are helping to build and improve this free online guide for the benefit of the whole climbing community. If altruism is not enough then see Crag Credit article on how Karma can directly benefit you.

Karma points are added up across the index to give you a score for each area, up to the World level at the top of the index.

Each contribution will add to your Karma points. You currently get points for the following: *

Update Area Description 50
Update Topo Route 30
Update Route Description 30
Locate Node 30
Make Topo 20
Upload Photo 20
Register Area 15
Register Route 15
Merge Route 10
Reparent Node 10
Request Area Name Change 10
Update Route Details 10
Delete Area 10
Rename Area 10
Merge Node 10
Request Route Name Change 10
Update Tag 10
Update Grade Contribution 10
Reparent Area 10
Update Route History 10
Reparent Route 10
Update Route Tag 10
Delete Route 10
Delete Node 10
Locate Route 10
Register Node Link 10
Update Area Tag 10
Resequence Area 10
Update Principle Grade 10
Rename Route 10
Merge Area 10
Update Area Type 10
Update Route URL Stub 5
Update URL Stub 5
Update Star Contribution 5
Create Circuit 5
Update Area URL Stub 5
Update Annotation 5
Add Public Comment 1
Archive Node 1
Start Public Discussion 1
Unarchive Node 1
Add Shortcut 1
Log Ascent 1

Please note that we took some coding shortcuts and a couple of the Karma categories have been used for multiple purposes. For example 'Update Annotation' is used for both creating and updating an annotation.

A few details

For a particular contribution type you will only get the points once for each node in the index. For example, if you upload more than one photo for a particular route you will get 20 points in total for all uploaded photos for that route.

More than one person can get points for contributions to a particular node in the index.

In order to help prevent people gaming the system Karma is not assigned immediately to your account, but put into a pending queue. After about a week, it will be assigned to your account. During that week we may alter the amount of Karma that will be assigned.

While it is cool to do genuine updates to the database for the purposes of gaining Karma, it is not cool to make rubish updates. Luckily there is so much to do, nobody seems to be making rubish updates.

Please note that the algorithms are quite involved for assigning karma and because of this there may be cases that we accidently miss assigning karma. If this happens then please contact us so we can fix it for the future, but be aware that we will not be able to back date the karma even if you were entitled to it.

Click here for site wide Karma leaderboard.

* These may change from time to time.