Section navigation

Description:© (kieranl)

Takes the lovely right-facing corner on the righthand-side of 'Central Buttress' before joining 'The Eighth' on the final two pitches. Take a few long slings for thread runners.

  1. 48m (11) Climb the corner to the top of 'Central Buttress'.

  2. 25m (8) Up and right to crack (The Eighth) and straight up this to large ledge.

  3. 20m (-) Walk to left end of ledge and up short tricky wall to righthand end of Flinders Lane (as for final pitch of The Eighth).

Ethic: inherited from Arapiles

Mount Arapiles is first and foremost a trad climbing area. The few sport climbs tend to be in the higher grades where no natural pro is available.

Bolting, particularly retro-bolting, is discouraged and should only be undertaken after extensive consultation with the local climbers, first ascensionists, etc. Inappropriately placed bolts have been chopped.

Do not chip the rock.

Look after the park.

  • Stick to the paths.

  • Don't disturb the wildlife.

  • Routes near peregrine falcon nesting sites are closed in the spring.

  • Minimise the impact of your camping (fuel stoves not fires, take your rubbish with you, etc).


Route History:

  • First Ascent: Bruce Hocking & Ian Speedie, 19th Dec


Located in Tiger Wall approx:
Long/Lat: 141.844257,-36.756496

Some content has been provided under license from: © Australian Climbing Association Queensland (Creative Commons, Attribution, Share-Alike 2.5 AU)

Route Grade Citations

11 Community registered grade
11 OZ Rock
11 ** Arapiles, Selected Climbs
11 ** Nick
11 ** ** ACA Route Register
11 ** A Rockclimbers Guide to Arapiles/Djurite
11 ** RockGUIDE: Victoria

Route quality

Route quality

Overall quality score: 62%

Lead Styles

Lead styles pie chart

Comments keywords

pumped crux fun cool nice fantastic good great lovely enjoyable awesome runout crap bad rest

Learn about creating circuits.